10 Books You Need To Read Right Now

Since people often ask me for book recommendations I’ve compiled a mini list that has something for everyone. Whether you want to get lost in the Yarra Valley wine world, empathize with a murderous stalker, cry at the complexity and beauty of female friendship or laugh at the mundane (by mundane I mean awkward childhood memories we can all relate to) – the following books will take you there.

Listed in no particular order:

 

1. The Family Law by Benjamin Law

 

The-Family-Law Meet the Law family – eccentric, endearing and hard to resist. Your guide: Benjamin, the third of five children and a born humorist. Join him as he tries to answer some puzzling questions: Why won’t his Chinese dad wear made-in-China underpants? Why was most of his extended family deported in the 1980s? Will his childhood dreams of Home and Away stardom come to nothing? What are his chances of finding love? Get Your Copy HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. YOU by Caroline Kepnes

 

A terrifying exploration of how vulnerable we all are to stalking and manipulation, debut author Caroline Kepnes delivers a razor-sharp novel for our hyper-connected digital age. You is a compulsively readable page-turner that’s being compared to Gone Girl, American Psycho, and Stephen King’s Misery. Get Your Copy HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes 

 

 Joe came to Los Angeles to start over, to forget about what happened in New York. But in a darkened room in Soho House everything suddenly changed. She is like no one he’s ever met before. She doesn’t know about his past and never can. The problem is, hidden bodies don’t always stay that way. Get Your Copy HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

 

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick. What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane. Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that. What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time. Get Your Copy HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

5. The Sky So Heavy by Claire Zorn

 

 For Fin it’s just like any other day—racing for the school bus, bluffing his way through class, and trying to remain cool in front of the most sophisticated girl in his universe. Only it’s not like any other day because, on the other side of the world, nuclear missiles are being detonated. When Fin wakes up the next morning, it’s dark, bitterly cold, and snow is falling. There’s no internet, no phone, no TV, no power, and no parents. Nothing Fin’s learned in school could have prepared him for this. With his parents missing and dwindling food and water supplies, Fin and his younger brother Max must find a way to survive all on their own. When things are at their most desperate, where can you go for help? Get Your Copy HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

6. The Regulars by Georgia Clark

 

GIRLS meets BRIDGET JONES’ DIARY (with a magical twist) in this fierce and hilarious women’s fiction debut, as three average girls become extraordinarily beautiful and have all their fantasies come true … or do they? Get Your Copy HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. The Dangers of Truffle Hunting by Sunni Overend

 

True desires will be unearthed … For readers of Zoe Foster-Blake, Candace Bushnell and Gourmet Traveller, a delightful sexy story that spans the Australian wine country, the French provinces and hip bars of Melbourne.

Is life too short to play it safe?

Get Your Copy HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. She’s Having Her Baby by Lauren Sams

 

Georgie Henderson doesn’t want to have kids, but her best friend, Nina Doherty, has wanted to have a baby for as long as she can remember. Sadly, Nina’s uterus refuses to cooperate. One drunken evening, Nina asks Georgie for the ultimate favour: would she carry a baby for her? Georgie says yes – and spends the next nine months wondering why!

With intense bacon-and-egg roll cravings and distant memories of what her feet look like, Georgie tries to keep it all together in her dream job as the editor of Jolie magazine. Her love life’s a mess – and sauvignon blanc’s off the menu – leaving Georgie to deal with twists in her life she never expected. Get Your Copy HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

9. Crazy Busy Guilty by Lauren Sams

 

 There’s life Before Baby and life After Baby. Any idiot knows that. I knew that. Except I didn’t know what life After Baby would really be like . . . Georgie Henderson is having a bad year. As a new – working – mum, she strives to be Sheryl Sandberg at work and Martha Stewart at home. But she’s discovering that in the twenty-first century being a Good Working Mum means answering emails at midnight while you purée vegetables and line up play dates and French lessons for your four-month-old daughter.

Georgie’s ex, Jase, gets 100 per cent of the credit for 5 per cent of the work, and her best friend, Nina, is on a ‘self-discovery’ journey that involves a 25-year-old bartender and a plan to become an artisanal florist. And all Georgie’s mum wants is for Georgie to find a man. Preferably the one who is the father of her child . . . Get Your Copy HERE.

 

 

10. Summerlandish: Do As I Say, Not As I Did by Summer Land (ME!)

 

summerlandish-ereaderA hilarious and not-so-serious memoir about how funny girl, Summer Land, raised her ovaries in middle class America before falling in love and moving to Australia with her coal-mining husband. Summerlandish is all the hard-won, scar-leaving, tattoo-regretting, butthole-tearing lessons Summer has learned over the years – “summer-ised” here in all their glamorously gory detail, so you don’t have to bother with learning them yourselves. And, surprisingly, she seems to know quite a bit about love, life and awkward moments involving too much caffeine and/or lack of restraint. Get Your Copy HERE.

 

 

 

 

Want to discover even more great books? Join my book club on Facebook.

Summer’s Book Club

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.